WHITE STONES Launches “Vencedores Vencidos” Lyric Video In Celebration Of New Album, Memoria...

Photo by Sandra Artigas

Opeth bassist Martín Mendéz’ second musical playground, WHITE STONES, proudly releases their third studio album, Memoria Viva, today via Reigning Phoenix Music (North American CD release – July 26th; Vinyl – August 9th).

The nine tracks continue Mendéz’ own approach to progressive death metal and take listeners into a soundscape which is graced with impactful Spanish-spoken lyrics. Another perfect example of WHITE STONES‘ unique creation is their rendition of Patricio Rey Y Sus Redonditos De Ricota’s “Vencedores Vencidos.” The song’s introduction seduces fans with uplifting melodies alongside Mendéz’ clocklike bass playing before Eloi Boucherie’s initially whispery vocal patterns pull each and everything into the driving maelstrom.

Comments Mendéz, “Patricio Rey Y Sus Redonditos De Ricota is a band that had a great impact on my youth. They’re a mythical Argentinian rock band and very well known all over Latin America, in particular in the ‘80s and ‘90s. ‘Vencedores Vencidos’ is one of their all-time classics and I feel honored to have a cover by them on our album!”

Adds Boucherie, “‘Vencedores Vencidos’ is one of the great classical hits from the Argentinian rock music scene, and it was a real challenge and unforgettable experience to make a cover of this immortal song. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as we did reinterpreting it.”

Watch WHITE STONES’ ‘Vencedores Vencidos’ lyric video at THIS LOCATION

Watch WHITE STONES’ previously released video for “La Ira” at THIS LOCATION and “D-Generación” at THIS LOCATION.

Order the album in the physical format of your choice [CD-digipak; Marbled Vinyl LP], stream it on your favorite DSP, or porder it digitally at whitestones.rpm.link/memoriavivaPR.

Memoria Viva Track Listing:

  1. Memoria Viva
  2. Humanoides
  3. D-Generación
  4. Zamba de Orun
  5. La Ira
  6. Somos
  7. Grito al silencio
  8. Vencedores Vencidos
  9. Yemayá

Much like its predecessors, Memoria Viva melts together disparate genres into a unique sonic experience. The instrumental frenzy migrates with delicate intricacies creating a mesmerizing atmosphere captivating any musical connoisseur, with the energetic language of Spanish chosen to round out this multi-faceted endeavor.

Making an album in Spanish is something that I wanted to do for a long time,” notes Mendéz. “We tried it out with our second record, Dancing Into Oblivion, but at the time we couldn’t convince ourselves that it worked on that album. This time we did, and I feel very proud of the result.”

Adds vocalist Eloi Boucherie, “One of the most notable aspects of this new album, apart from not setting any creative limits musically, has been the challenge of having proposed to sing in the Spanish language. It has been a very exciting experience, and we believe we have found a new way to continue giving something new to the WHITE STONES sound and make this musical proposal something more unique!”

Elements of aggression, that can be heard within Memoria Viva’s instrumental frenzies, manage to co-exist along softer vibes, generating a distinct dynamic among the songs, with interludes allowing listeners to take a breath and appreciate what they’re hearing.

WHITE STONESMemoria Viva was recorded at Farm Of Sounds Studios and mixed and mastered by Gerard Porqueres at Heartwork Recording Studios (both in Barcelona, Spain).

The band’s lineup has been enhanced with the participation of the multi-faceted Joan Carles Marí Tur on drums and guitar solos provided by João Sassetti. Additional guests José Ignacio Lagos (flute) and Joakim Svalberg (keyboards) accentuate the album further.

Memoria Viva is a true treat for anyone who enjoys devouring multi-experimental musicianship.

Subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube HERE and listen to “Vencedores Vencidos” as well as other new tracks in the RPM New Releases playlist on Spotify HERE.

“…a relatively short but endlessly fascinating journey through the dark, outer limits of prog metal. Their best album so far by a mile or three, this sounds like a launchpad towards other, even more immersive and unusual heavy music.” — Blabbermouth

“…the band builds a foundation that holds together a cornucopia of sounds and moods. The rhythm section grooves like a confident stag on the prowl. This should be no surprise coming from Opeth’s Martín Méndez on bass. Meanwhile, slick riffs and powerful vocals keep the energy high. This is a record that belongs in any prog fan’s collection.” — Metal Digest

“Full of top-tier songwriting from a band that’s willing to take chances and isn’t just mired in one genre of music, Memoria Viva is my current choice for the album of the year.” – Metal Epidemic

“…a highly entertaining opus…” — Rock Hard Germany

“Memoria Viva is a groundbreaking death metal album…” – Musikreviews.de

“There is no doubt that this is a unique album… the diversity of the album is its greatest strength.” – Metal Temple


The post WHITE STONES Launches “Vencedores Vencidos” Lyric Video In Celebration Of New Album, Memoria Viva, Out Today On Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM) first appeared on Earsplit Compound.

Leave a comment