DISSIMULATOR: Montréal-Based Technical Thrash/Death Metal Trio To Release Debut LP, Lower Form...

20 Buck Spin’s first release of 2024 will arrive in the form of Lower Form Resistance, the debut by Montréal, Quebec’s DISSIMULATOR.

While DISSIMULATOR will be a new name to most in 2024, with the release of razor-sharp debut LP, Lower Form Resistance, the band unleashes an overwhelming future shock on the auditory and sensory nerves, permanently imprinting on the cerebral cortex with their pulsating unconventional attack. With the members’ combined resumes including Chthe’ilist, Atramentus, Beyond Creation, Incandescence, among others, the band executes its jagged sci-fi death/thrash with vicious intricacy.

DISSIMULATOR was created by guitarist/vocalist Claude Leduc, bassist Antoine Daigneault, and drummer Philippe Boucher. Over the forty-two-minute course of Lower Form Resistance, the jarring angular riffs, complex structures, and atmosphere of exuberant incongruity meshes acutely with a straightforward momentum and perpetual accessibility at the crossroads where the thrash and death metal scenes began to coalesce, and directional potentiality felt limitless. Add to this a Voivodian prescience of robotic sentience and technological doom and DISSIMULATOR’s vision makes for total immersion in their world-building enterprise.

The off-kilter and adventurous spirit of Lower Form Resistance that manages to sound fresh today while conjuring a certain spirit of 1988-1993 makes the DISSIMULATOR debut a mesmerizingly bizarre and gratifying dose of aggressive alacrity. Those who frequently scan the auditory output of Obliveon, Sadus, Voivod, Atheist, Hexx, Decapitated, Meshuggah, and other such technically audacious acts must set their sights on DISSIMULATOR.

With spoken words in “Outer Phase” and additional vocals on “Automoil & Robotoil” by Laurent Bellemare (Sutrah, Serocs), Lower Form Resistance was largely recorded by the band, the drums recorded by Xavier Berthiaume at Productions Tehom, with reamping, mixing, and mastering handled by Hugues Deslauriers at Roarrrsoundstudio. The album’s cover art was created by Jesse Draxler (Full Of Hell, Zola Jesus, Black Magnet), the logo formed by Charles Benoit, and the layout by Audrey Pasquini/Graphiste.

The band’s Claude Leduc writes with the lead single, “‘Hyperline Underflow’ is one of the more ‘upbeat’ songs on Lower Form Resistance, both musically and lyrically. Within the context of the album’s bleak vision of a future in which the remains of the human species and of its essence are almost totally determined by technical processes, the song entertains the possibility of new forms of life emerging seemingly ex nihilo from the neglected outer layers of a god-machine that has assimilated most of the natural world. As the penultimate song on the album, ‘Hyperline Underflow’ sets the stage for the call to resistance that unites all organic life against the cybernetic totality.”

Stream the first single from DISSIMULATOR’s ravenous Lower Form Resistance, “Hyperline Underflow,” at YouTube HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Lower Form Resistance will be released in LP, CD, and digital forms on January 26th. Preorders for all formats can be secured at the 20 Buck Spin webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

Stand by for additional transmissions from DISSIMULATOR’s Lower Form Resistance over the weeks ahead.

Lower Form Resistance Track Listing:
1. Neural Hack
2. Warped
3. Outer Phase
4. Automoil & Robotoil
5. Cybermorphism / Mainframe
6. Hyperline Underflow
7. Lower Form Resistance

Claude Leduc – Guitars, Vocals
Antoine Daigneault – Bass
Philippe Boucher – Drums


The post DISSIMULATOR: Montréal-Based Technical Thrash/Death Metal Trio To Release Debut LP, Lower Form Resistance, On 20 Buck Spin January 26th; “Hyperline Underflow” Single And Preorders Posted first appeared on Earsplit Compound.

Leave a comment